8 Limbs Of Yoga Handout 

Hi, my name is George Watts. I’m a BWY yoga teacher with a hankering for handouts.

I absolutely love creating handouts for my yoga students. I hope the 8 limbs of yoga handouts become a useful addition to your yoga teacher toolbag.

Free Yoga Class Handout Download

8 Limbs Of Yoga Handout (ms word, pdf and ODT formats)

This is just 1 of 250+ yoga class handouts included as a bonus within the Yoga Teacher Lesson Plan Kit. With this epic bonus, you’ll be able to download an MS Word Document with 450+ pages of yoga class handouts.

It’s taken me years to create this document.

It includes all the “yoga class handouts” that I’ve created for my own yoga classes over the years. The best part is that you’ll be able to edit every single one of the handouts. For example, you might want to put your logo on the handouts or edit the descriptions a bit to add your own style. Your students will love receiving them.

Use The Yoga Handouts

  • As a teaching aid for your classes
  • As a handout for your classes
  • As a template for your own handouts

8 Limbs Of Yoga Overview

8 Limbs Of Yoga Handouts

8 Limbs of Yoga
The 8 limbs of yoga are a series of disciplines, written in The Yoga Sutra of Patanjali in 200 AD, that purifies the body and mind, leading the yoga student to enlightenment.

Limb 1: Yama: Self-restraint
Moral observances for interactions with others. Teaches non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, celibacy and non-covetousness.

Limb 2. Niyama: Observance
Rules that are prescribed for personal observance: internal and external purity, contentment, austerity study of religious books,  repetitions of Mantras and self-surrender to God.

Limb 3. Asana: Movement & Posture
The practice of asana, which means “staying” in Sanskrit, calms the mind and moves us into the inner essence of being.

Limb 4. Pranayama: Breath
Pranayama is the measuring, controlling, and directing of the breath.

Limb 5. Pratyahara: Senses Withdrawl
Withdrawal of senses from attachment to external objects.

Limb 6. Dharana: Concentration
The immovable concentration of the mind.  Hold concentration or focus in one direction.  The mind needs to be stilled in order to achieve this state of complete absorption.

Limb 7. Dhyana: Meditation
Focuses on meditation. When the mind is focused on an object, the mind is changed into the shape of the object.

Limb 8. Samadhi: Union
Samadhi means to bring together. In this state, the body and senses are at rest, but the faculty of mind and reason are alert. You need to control the feelings of Avidya (ignorance), Asmita (egoism), Raga-Dvesha (likes and dislikes), and Abhinivesha (clinging to mundane life).

Online Yoga Lesson Planner

Create yoga lesson plans quickly and easily. Access 100,000+ yoga lesson plans. Choose from 3000+ poses. Used by 1000+ yoga teachers, trainers and trainees worldwide.